Online Casinos vs. Traditional Casinos

When it comes to casinos, there are stark differences between online and traditional casinos (also known as ‘land casinos’). There are positive and negative aspects of both varieties and can suit different types of people or objectives.

Other than the physical differences between the two, there are some other, subtler, distinctions. Many people don’t give online casinos the chance they deserve, mainly through a genuine lack of information. Here we give you the lowdown.

Which is best: online casinos or traditional casinos?

1. No Waiting Time

One of the biggest selling points of online casinos is the ability to play whenever you want to. There’s no waiting around for a seat to become free, or for someone to move away from a slot machine. When you play casino games online, you are able to pick whatever game you fancy and start playing almost immediately.

Whether it’s the middle of the night or mid-afternoon, as soon as you open up your laptop you could be spinning a roulette wheel, taking your chances on the slots or perfecting your poker face.

2. Wear Whatever You Want

For those who want to be able to play in the comfort of their own home, wearing pyjamas, tatty clothes or being bare-foot, online casinos are for you. You don’t need to worry about a dress code or fitting in with others when lying on your sofa, as opposed to if you were wandering around a traditional casino.

However, the absence of a dress code also means the lack of incentives to continue playing. Many traditional casinos will offer you free drinks, tokens for games or snacks to keep you sustained and able to spend a prolonged amount of time playing.

3. Getting the Jackpots

One of the biggest thrills in gambling is being able to hold all of your winnings at the end of your session. Exchanging the tokens you’ve been building up and seeing the real-life money earned from your efforts is the main reason people go to casinos in the first place.

Whereas, online casinos usually work through internet wallets that you can transfer funds from directly to your bank account. Whilst this isn’t as exciting, it is often more practical in the long run.


Both online casinos and traditional casinos are great for people who are looking for excitement and anticipation, but it depends on the specific experience you’re searching for as to which one you’d prefer. Internet casinos are brilliant in terms of convenience and functionality whilst land casinos are great for occasions and as an excuse to dress up.